Whole 30

Whole 30, Round 1!

I have never done a Whole 30 before, although I ate fairly strict when I first started paleo.  I eat mostly clean to begin with, and try to avoid gluten, dairy and sugar, but I am not always perfect.  A lot of the times when I am hungry or looking for a quick snack I will grab the first package of cookies or protein bars that say “gluten-free,” but that doesn’t necessarily mean that the ingredients are the best.  A lot of those products have added sugar and soy, which I recently found out I am allergic to.

The main reason I am doing this is to reset my system, improve my digestion, and teach myself good, healthy habits.

Since I eat mostly paleo-ish to begin with, I don’t think this should be too difficult.  The hardest part for me will be getting enough carbs in.  Since I workout a lot and am looking to gain strength, I need carbs in my body.  It’s easy to do with grains and such, but a little more difficult on Whole 30.

But I am looking forward to seeing how my body does, and to make new, healthy recipes and eat clean.  So I will use this blog to document my days, meals, workouts, feelings, etc. while on Whole 30.

Day 1 was yesterday, and I did not take photos of all my meals.

Breakfast:

Egg, beef & sweet potato scramble from Snap Kitchen

Lunch:

Grilled Pineapple burger (without a bun) leftovers from this recipe (minus the sauce) and homemade sweet potato fries.

Dinner:

img_20170123_201756857

Salmon with cucumber dill sauce (recipe coming soon to my main website) and steamed asparagus.

Snacks: Raw almonds, jazz apple

How I feel: Excited and ready for more!

little-sig

Leave a Reply

