Whole 30

Whole 30 R1 Day 2

Day 2 is in the books. I’m beginning to think that starting Whole 30 the week Aunt Irma is in town wasn’t the best idea. Since I am also cutting out caffeine (for now at least, because I just can’t drink coffee without some sort of added sweetness), I was a little tired in the morning. But my body is adjusting to the no caffeine since I have cut it out for a week already, so I’m not having any more afternoon crashes. My meals were yummy.

Breakfast:

I was so ready for breakfast.  I’m always hungry in the morning.  Well, I’m always hungry period.  But I was excited to try this sweet potato toast I see all over the internet.  And sweet potato toast with almond butter–delicious! This might be a new morning staple.

img_20170124_083422885
Sweet potato “toast” with almond butter, sausage, and berries

 

 

 

Mid-morning snack:

Breakfast didn’t fill me up enough and by 10am I was starving again.  So I had a small handful of almonds and blueberries to hold me over until lunch.

img_20170124_112150910
A small amount of blueberries and almonds

 

Lunch:

Lunch was good.  I grilled a boneless, skinless chicken thigh the night before and had it with some steamed asparagus and a small jazz apple.

img_20170124_125415310
Grilled chicken thigh, steamed asparagus, and a small jazz apple

 

Snack/Pre-WOD:

I always need some sort of carbs for fuel about 1-2 hours before a workout. Today I grabbed a cherry larabar, and had a couple pieces of Epic bison meat jerky.


Cherry Larabar and a couple pieces of Epic Bar jerky. Yum.

 

Dinner:

Today is Taco Tuesday! I made my tacos on lettuce wraps and topped my ground beef with cilantro, lime, avocado and salsa.  My husband has his with corn tortillas and cheese added.

img_20170124_200229388
Taco Tuesday! Ground beef “tacos” on lettuce with avocado, lime and salsa. 

 

 

Workout:
Strength:
Bench Press –
1×8@50%
1×8@60%
2×8@65%
2×8@67.5%
4×8@72.5%
WOD:
2 Rounds:
20 right armed DB snatch 35/25#
20 1 armed DB OH Lunge 35/25#
20 left armed DB snatch 35/25#
20 1 armed DB OH Lunge 35/25#
50 situps
Score: 11:55RX

The workout felt okay, but the overhead lunges with a dumbbell are kind of tough.  It’s much easier with a barbell.  It took a lot of stability to hold it overhead while lunging.

Looking forward to another day tomorrow!

little-sig

 

Leave a Reply

